Driving under the influence (DUI) is a serious offense in Palmerton, Bethlehem, and Stroudsburg. Repeat offenders pay big fines, can lose their licenses and even do jail time. In fact, if a person has been convicted twice in ten years of drunk driving, he or she could be facing up to six months in jail and a $2,500. If BAC is .10 or higher but less than .16 or higher, the penalties could be even higher. The highest penalties are reserved for drivers with a BAC of .16 and up.
You also have the embarrassment of losing your driver’s license for certain period of time and spending more time with an ignition interlock fitted into your vehicle. In Pennsylvania, an aggravated DUI carries additional penalties and is a much more serious offense.
What is an aggravated DUI?
In Pennsylvania, an aggravated DUI is actually an aggravated assault with a vehicle while driving under the influence. It occurs when a person under the influence causes bodily injury to another while driving under the influence. It is a second-degree felony in Pennsylvania. The penalties may include up to 10 years in prison and a fine up to $25,000.
If convicted of this offense, the driver not only will go to jail and lose his license, will carry a criminal record. This might jeopardize employment, limit ability to get credit or a mortgage, and could even affect school admissions and other aspects of the individual’s life.
If charged with an aggravated DUI, speak to an attorney as soon as you can. Being charged with this crime does not mean that you will necessarily be convicted. You and your attorney can work together to get the facts of the case and build your defense.
What are defenses to an aggravated DUI?
A defense attorney will look at the scene of the event; how the police handled the DUI stop, the accident and conviction report; as well as how police conducted any roadside test and the method of blood alcohol content testing. The investigation may lead to questions as to the validity of the charge.
For example, if the investigation finds that the defendant seemed to pass the roadside test and/or the blood alcohol content testing was faulty, then it may bring into question whether the driver was actually intoxicated. Your attorney can go over more details of possible defenses to your particular case.
When to Contact a Lawyer
Anytime you have been charged with a DUI in any capacity, speak with a lawyer right away. There are a number of strategies an attorney can start working on immediately that may help downgrade or dismiss your charges and/or minimize any fines or jail time. Your attorney can help make the right decisions from the time of your arrest through all of your court dates.
Do not be intimidated by police officers and prosecuting attorneys. ARM Lawyers can provide a free consultation about your case. We can go over possible defenses and advocate on your behalf throughout the legal process. Give us a call at 570-257-4509 (Stroudsburg), 484-765-8140 (Palmerton), or 610-849-2788 (Bethlehem) to set up an appointment at one of our conveniently located offices.